Excerpt from volume 1 of “It Really IS Rocket Science”, A Rock’n’Roll Fantasy

I’m going to do a public reading in March, so I’m selecting a collection of excerpts to read that give listeners a feel for each major character as well as the tone of the series. Here’s a candidate.
==========================

Later after the meeting, Blar rounded the corner in the hall and stepped right into his lead guitarist. She nearly hit the ceiling in a jumping panic. Glycerin’s eyes jerked in several directions as she fluttered her hands.

“I-I-I didn’t m-m-mean to … um, stick my f-f-foot, um … up your pant leg.” Tiny tear droplets formed on her lashes as panic oozed. Blar gently cupped the back of her neck in his hand and drew Glycerin close to her, whispering in her ear as he stroked her neck to calm her.

“Shhh. I’m not stupid, Little Dancer, I think you’re lovely and I am very much attracted to you. No, there’s no clear path, You love Tsika. She loves you. I adore both of you. I am going to be as caring to both of you as I can. None of us want to hurt each other or the band. It’s a long way to the top if we want to rock it and we need to help each other.”

Glycerin became utterly still as he cradled her against him, a cat basking in a warm lap. She pressed her cheek against his neck. “I … I … know. If … if I can … at least do this … cuddle with my Blar … it’ll be okay.”

She took a deep breath. “Thank you. It’s still … kind of amazing to me … that you even look at me. I never … never want to hurt … Tsika … never. She’s my precious doll.”

“Neither do I, Glycca. Nor do I want to hurt you.” He let go of Glycerin and held her hands in his, squeezing them. “Just keep swimmin- … god dammit! I did it again! Freaking fish movie and Kpau’s brain worms!”

Glycerin’s eyes widened and a daft smile appeared on her face. Blar had blundered into blurting the same Kpau movie quote he had used to console and calm her back at the club. She giggled so hard she snorted. It was beautiful to hear.

“Oh, bloody hell! That was an unladylike noise!”

She snorted again as she giggled. “Bollocks! I’m off to the bloody music room to practice before I puff a fart!”

Glycerin darted in, brushed her lips on Blar’s cheek. Then she danced off, leaving him standing in the hall stunned by her kiss, her mood swing, and her burst of undamaged speech. He wasn’t sure which was more amazing.

Blar stood there in disbelief until two small hands grabbed his belt and shook him from behind. He turned and grabbed Tsika by the waist, hoisting her up in the air as she giggled and shrieked. He settled her in one arm as she put her arms around his neck. Small lips brushed his ear.

“I don’t know what you said to Glycerin just now but I have never heard my darling Mouse laugh that hard or that long. Don’t tell me, I don’t want to know. I just know it made me so very happy.” Tsika turned his his head and kissed him.

All Blar could think was how utterly screwed he was. He did not want to repeat history but there didn’t seem to be any emergency exit for the ride he was on with these two women.

Doom on him.

Leave a Reply

